So, weird and sexual and inappropriate things REALLY fascinate me. A couple nights ago I literally spent like... an hour and a half looking at this Tumblr that was just a whole bunch of guys with "awkward" boners. AND I DON'T KNOW WHY. I didn't find it funny, and it didn't turn me on. I was just like "Yeah, boners."
And I'm like that with a lot of things. I hate it when swear words or the words "dick" or similar are censored out of music. What's the point of even putting it in there in the first place if you're just going to take it out because some people find it inappropriate? If you're concerned with what people will think of the language in your lyrics, pick a different word to start with.
It's weird because I don't like a lot of western rap music, I find it way too raunchy and over the top and etc. But that might just be the way that they express it. I'm sure that's a big part of it, actually. I really don't mind listening to Ke$ha music and hear her talking about guys' dicks. Or just dicks in general, because in one song she says "suck my dick" so that's not really talking about a guy's dick, but if I said "talking about her dick" that would be misleading.
GETTING OFF TOPIC.
Anyway, I have purchased a number of songs on iTunes that are marked as "explicit" and I just find it really interesting, the differences between ones that are marked and ones that aren't. Like, one song is marked because the singer says "shit" one time - and another isn't marked where the person says "bullshit" multiple times. Is the shit more offensive jut because we don't know specifically what kind of animal it comes from?
And then a song is marked because the singer says "cock" even though it's made to sound like part of another word (in Katy Perry's song "peacock" she says "I wanna see your peacock-cock-cock"). But other songs that are much more severe don't get marked as explicit just because they don't mention specific body parts. IT'S ALL SO WEIRD.
The reasoning behind it, I'm assuming, is that people don't want their seven year old kids running around saying "cock". Which I can understand, it's a vulgar word. But what makes it vulgar. What makes it worse than saying "penis"? Or dick. I think dick is more vulgar than penis but not as vulgar as cock. But I don't know why I think that, and that fascinates me. Obviously that's what society has taught me, but in order for me to learn that way, other people must feel that way, so why do THEY feel that way? Is it because penis is the technical term, and everything else is slang? Because they're used in more sexual ways? Or more casual ways? That's my best guess.
We need a fancy, formal word for dick. So we can just walk up to the chaps in England and be like GOOD SIR, MIGHT YOU PERCHANCE GRACE ME WITH A VIEWING OF YOUR TUPPIN. I THINK I MIGHT LIKE TO LICK IT.
Or something.
No comments:
Post a Comment